Kota Kinabalu, Borneo

imageHiya peeps, Audrey here!

Recently as you may or may not know already… My family and I went to Borneo the day after Christmas and we cannot wait to go back!

Travel essentials ;)We did lots of fun stuff even though we were only there for 4 days.

On our first day we went shopping at the best mall in town, IMAGO. For anyone who is confused and thinks Borneo is just a giant jungle then you’re wrong, Kota Kinabalu is one of the main cities in Borneo! It’s got everything from shopping malls to skyscrapers! It’s quite similar to Singapore except Kota Kinabalu is smaller. I liked Borneo more because although it had an awesome, huge city feel, it also has a really nice cultural aspect.IMG_1429Anyway back to the original topic, the first day we went shopping and ate lots of delicious (and unhealthy) FOOD! I got some really cute overalls from H&M, a mid drift and a cover for my mini Instax camera which I got from my nanna for Christmas!imageOn our second day in Borneo we went to the Shang Ri La Rasa Ria which is a hotel that has an orang utan rehabilitation centre with lots of cute, adorable orang utans. The Rasa Ria rescues orang utans and nurtures them for four years, then once they are old enough they are sent on a 7 hour car ride to a big sanctuary.Borneo 1Borneo 2On our way back from the Rasa Ria we stopped at a beautiful Mosque. imageBorneo 3On our third day we decided to go ‘island hopping’…. BAD IDEA.IMG_0377In Bali there are a few islands nearby that we visit quite often, you usually go on quite a nice medium-ish sized boat and so I was expecting it to be like that… BUT OH NO IT WAS NOT. It was on a very small, poorly cared for speed boat thing. Don’t think I have a problem with small boats cause I don’t, I like them better than big ones but I had a problem with this particular boat ride! We all thought we were going to die, period. XDIMG_0383The island itself was beautiful, with lots of greenery and crystal clear water. It really reminded me of America… Even though I’ve never been to America so therefore it cannot remind me of America but whatever right? We swam and snorkelled right off the beach for a couple of hours and then it was time to go.IMG_0382 Our second boat driver was a little better but I still thought I was going to die!imageBy the way, this was not our boat… Ours was much smaller!imageAll photos of me, taken by Rowe Timson (my mum)

Well I hope you enjoyed your whirlwind trip to Kota Kinabalu! Don’t forget to stay tuned for more posts to come!

Love Gracie & Lulu

Leave a Reply

